1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Getting irritated with building a song list

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by hrodbert696, Apr 11, 2010.

1. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

I'm a pretty new bassist, started getting together with some guys to play a few months ago. Power trio of bass/drums/guitar. A couple of us can sing but not really sing lead and play well at the same time, so we went to CL to find a singer and found a guy who seems to blend in pretty well, has rhythm guitar too.

Yesterday's practice I started to get irritated. I thought we had a system going to add songs to the repertoire and build up to a giggable setlist; everyone nominates a tune they want to play, we all go listen to it, find chords or tabs or whatever we need, come together next week to work on it together.

This last practice basically nobody had looked at my nomination (Smashmouth's "All Star," not that obscure of a song to find...) so we flubbed around with it for about one run-through and that was it. I had also nominated "Suffragette City" a while back and it still sounds like nobody had really tried to get it down.

Meanwhile the singer, who had been in another band before, will jump in during the pauses and just start playing some song he used to do before, the drummer will jump in, and me and the lead guitar are left sitting there wondering what the chords are and when we're going to get back to the songs on the list that we had actually prepared.

Any recommendations for how to handle this? I like these guys to play with, they're about my speed and age, but I want to feel like I'm making a contribution, playing things of my choice, and not just supposed to learn the root notes to stuff the singer already knows while he doesn't bother to learn new songs.

2. This is classic time wasting behavior.

My suggestion is: