1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Getting My Seven Year Old Started

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by stratovarius, Apr 30, 2018.

Tags:
  1. stratovarius

stratovarius

Mar 20, 2010
    I am a long time guitar player and a part time bass dabbler. My son wants to get started on bass. I can help him with theory, but my technique on bass is a bit weak and I have no experience in music instruction.

He has been playing piano for three years. He has a good ear and great timing, but has a work ethic and tolerance for frustration that are typical for someone his age. In other words, not much! I need to keep this fun for him and give him an opportunity for frequent tangible results in order to keep him motivated. I think he would enjoy jamming with me if we can find some simple things to start.

I have already bought him a solid body Kala U Bass. It sounds surprisingly good and I think he should be able to handle it with no problem. Any and all advice is much appreciated!

2. dexter3d

dexter3d

Jul 4, 2005
    Lithuania
    You must teach fretting hand technique (1-2-4 method, correct palm curvature) and plucking hand technique (muting, alternating, string skipping). As far as content goes, start with play alongs with 1-5, two notes per bar. Pop songs, anything. Best - get him a teacher with classical DB background.

3. stratovarius

stratovarius

Mar 20, 2010
    Yes, I am running across this 1-2-4 concept. I have super long fingers, so I guess I have been getting by without it. I definitely don't want to start him out with all of my bad habits!

4. A seven year old wakes up in a new world each morning. Keep it fun. How? Show him how to pound a tonic root to the beat while you two have fun playing together. In my opinion that is about all his little fingers will handle.