1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Getting Older and transitioning out of a bar band...

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by troy mcclure, Apr 2, 2013.

1. I will be turning 50 in Nov... I am no dinosaur but want to have a 5 year plan to get out of the bar band scene.

I am not a pro and do not make my living from music but it is about a 1.4 of my income and I would miss it (although I wouldn't be buying as much new gear or have the extra gigging incurred expenses).

1) What are my options for making some money and still playing on a fairly regular basis.

2) What do I need to do to better position myself for a different type of gig.

Any thoughts on what some of you do or have done would be appreciated.

2. 1) find a steady gig. Church, local musical theater, originals band...

2) know how to read.

3. wear an english hat, smoke a pipe, grow a goatie and learn some jazz

4. elgecko

elgecko

Apr 30, 2007
    Anasleim, CA
    Jazz!

5. Lucky for me I learned to read at school. I get a lot more jazz gigs than pub rock gigs these days. The pay is better and so are the hours.

6. Ukiah Bass

Ukiah Bass Supporting Member

May 10, 2006
    yeah, jazz is the way. Instrumental music, played in the background at wineries, restaurants, receptions and the like. You become the aural wallpaper. Hours are good, people are nice, venues nicer, and sometimes you even get paid more than the bar scene. However, if you've been used to playing 1-4-5 blues based music, get ready to do your homework because you'll need to apply more theory and skills for the jazz route. In the end, it's been more fulfilling for me.....

7. madurolover

madurolover

May 21, 2011
    Tampa Fl
    I play with a band of 50 year olds, gig once a month

8. 20db pad

20db pad

Feb 11, 2003
    I been everywhere, man...