1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Getting Relief On A '64 Kent

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Oren Hudson, Mar 14, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Oren Hudson

Oren Hudson

Dec 25, 2007
    Gastonia, NC
    :help: I have this '64 Kent that's identical to my first bass. Sounds great. The problem is that these basses did not have a truss rod. I've tried shims here and shims there and everywhere, but I have been unsuccessful in getting any relief. With no relief, of course, to get the lower half of the neck to not fret out, the action on the upper half of the neck is really high. I don't want to give up, but after 10 or so attempts of shims at different places and different thicknesses, it's getting frustrating. Any ideas or tips?

2. LowNloud1

LowNloud1 Commercial User

Jun 11, 2012
    Wilmington NC
    I am a hobbyist making stone picks that I occasionally sell but mostly give away. They made me do this anyways.
    Get a work mate bench by Black and Decker. Wait until the temps hit into the 90's. Take the neck alone (I did remove the nut) and place one side against the vise plate then crank in the other side placing shims where you want to straighten the upper part of the neck. tighten it down and place the WorkMate in ht esun so that the back of the neck is facing south and exposed to the sun. Leave it all day for 2 - 3 days. Don't let it get wet, Don't release it to check during the day but you can check it during the cooler evening hours. The heat and pressure should significantly reduced the bow. I used this method on a badly bowed, trussless neck and had good results. Did not completely eliminate but significantly improved. Nothing came loose and it hasn't returned to its former condition.

Other option is to send it to Texas to the neck straightener for $75+.

IMG_20140110_150904_zpsrgwt6wti.

Last edited: Mar 15, 2016