1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Getting started in the Paper side of Music

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by StonedLikeSloth, Mar 8, 2010.

1. StonedLikeSloth

StonedLikeSloth

Feb 27, 2010
    I have been playing for about 6 years, in about 5 different bands, done about 30 shows, I sing and play bass. But I have never learned anything other than just sitting down, listening to a song, and playing it and completely teaching myself. I play in a few jam bands, I can move up and down the neck, play in key, and jam like a mother ****er. But I only know 2 scales (barely), and I really just know in my head what sounds good, and that's how I play 99% of the time. I write almost all of the music for both bands, lyrics and bass lines(just basic chord patterns, that everyone can follow, and I write a basic bassline). I want to know where to start, to learn scales (I have read pacmans guide to practicing scales, but where is a good source for scales to begin with, since I don't know them) I have great rhythm and most everyone I play with always compliments my playing. I just want to learn the other side of music if you know what I mean. I am good, but I want to be great. I am a very dedicated musician, I want to go to school for music, and try to live the dream of becoming a musician. What's the point of life if I can't do what I love? :bassist:

Any and all help is greatly appreciated, sorry for not being very thorough in my explanation, but I couldn't think of any other way to state it. I have been lurking for a month or so, glad to officially be a poster! Thanks!

2. Learning scale patterns is a piece of cake, learning how to make music from them is another story. Best advise I can give - with your experience and your innate skill level - get with a good instructor. Chore is finding a good one. Ask bass musicians in your area who they use.