Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Getting the feel of the bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by rob15, Sep 3, 2000.

1. rob15

rob15

Sep 3, 2000
    I'm a beginner, but I noticed how some of you guys said to get the feel of the bass. I was just going to buy a bass from a website. Should I goto the store and get the feel of the bass their first? And if so, what am I exactly looking for when I hold/feel it?
    -Rob-

2. CamMcIntyre

CamMcIntyre

Jun 6, 2000
    USA
    i've been told that you should try before you buy so that if the feel isn't right you can see if they have a different one that feels better. The feel to me is how it feels in my hands & how the neck feels. I'm beginning to realize i like the feel of a p-bass neck spacing more than a jazz one. that's all

3. cassanova

cassanova

Sep 4, 2000
    Florida
    feel means, hows it feel when you play it, do you have to overexcert yourself to fret a note?, is the guitar balanced to your liking?, too heavy or lite? things like that. Its always best to play a guitar b4 you buy it, no 2 guitars will feel exactly the same even if made from the same tree.

4. Hey Rob,

I`m a greenhorn too.All I can say is go to a low key place like guitar center and just start pulling off the basses from the wall and playing or what have you(they let you do that there :D)Even if you have no plans of buying,it is good to get a feel for differant axes.Hey,no way in hell I could afford a 2500.00k warwick but I got to mess with one!!

The veteran members here can give you much more advice than I but if you are already playing(even at beginner level)you will be able to notice differances between the basses you are checking out and your old warhorse at home.Some you will like,some you will not.