1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Getting the groove

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by yehongxiang, Apr 20, 2010.

1. yehongxiang

yehongxiang

Dec 15, 2009
    Singapore
    I've been playing for five months now and I think I have a problem.

I've got a good teacher, and have learnt a lot of things ranging from theory, to slap/pop, tapping and just playing the right notes at the right time. I don't wanna sound like I'm blowing my own horn, but I can more or less hold my own when I'm playing with people who had more experience than me.

However, I've noticed a problem. While I can play most songs from beginning to the end, I don't seem to have any groove/feel to it. It just seems very robotic to me!

How do I get the groove?

2. That's a great question and hard to answer directly, for me it's analogous to, 'how do I make a great solo'.

Couple things I can share FWIW:

First, one of my favorite quotes from a GREAT bassists and teacher:

""When I talk about time I like to define that because people have different concepts of what time is. I define it as two different things. There is one called absolute time which is the space between two points. It's like the space between two stars in the universe. In space we measure distance by how long it takes to get from one point to another. This time is absolute, 60 seconds in a minute right? Time feel is an interpretation of the space between these two stars, or between points A and B. If you look at points A and B as 7am and 7pm then the space between them is filled with the events of that day. These events can be of infinite quantity. What happens between two quarter notes is the same thing. How you fill that space creates your own personal feel, and is variable, but those two points are absolute"."