Getting tired of anti 4/4 snobs

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Nephilymbass, Sep 29, 2017.

Tags:
  1. seen several post on FB lately and this is kind of annoying me. Basically people who are supposedly in prog metal bands bashing anything and everything they come across because they hear it in 4/4. Odd thing is I hear the majority of music in 4/4. Even stuff like Meshuggah with polyrhythms I listen along and hear the hi hat or ride constantly holding down 4/4. Meshuggah has even said in interviews all their stuff is in 4/4. I'm a classically trained musician who can read music decently and I'm starting to think that a these folks just don't know what they are talking about. IMO using odd time signatures are great for one main thing. Making sheet music look "pretty" so people can read it easily. When it comes to playing live from memory I'm more concerned with just the tempo and feeling the groove. But back to the time signature thing. A lot of time signatures are actually interchangeable. 6/8 at 50 Bpm sounds identical to 3/4 at 100bpm. Of course they look different on paper but they can sound identical. Another example Instead of switching back and forth between say 4/4 and 6/8 constantly why not stay in 4/4 and count the 6/8 measures as triplets in 4/4? Because that's how I hear that, I hear triplets not time signature changes. There's more to music than quarter notes and eighth notes. and Theres plenty of different tempos.

Seems to me these people only think in quarter notes and 8th notes and absolutely have to play on the down beat of 1 every single measure.