Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Getting to the Next Level

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by zac2944, Oct 19, 2005.

1. zac2944

zac2944 Supporting Member

Dec 28, 2004
    Rochester, NY
    I'm trying to take my bass playing to the next level, but I'm not exactly sure what to do. I've done some searching here and can't seem to find what I'm looking for. Most posts seem to be geared toward the beginner/intermediate bassist. Maybe some of you guys can help me out.

A little background: I've been playing bass for 16 years. With the exception of a few short breaks, I have been in at least one band at any given time. I have taken about 3 years worth of lessons over the years, taken music theory classes, have taught myself a lot about jazz theory, my reading is rusty but has been good at times, and I constantly work on improving my technique.

To be objective, I made a list of areas where I would like to improve and came up with the following: Reading, Jazz/Harmony theory, adding complex/fast passages to solos, singing what I play (ala Otiel), advanced technique, and ear training. I hope that the right teacher could help me find more areas to work on.