Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Gibson EB-2 as a beginner's bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by nielsa, Jan 22, 2003.

1. Hi, I'm a rookie at this, as I'm going to buy my very fist bass guitar. I have noticed that Gibson basses don't seem to be too popular. Why?

As a blues man I like Gibson guitars, why I thought my first bass should be the nice cherry red '65 EB-2, that I have seen in a local guitar shop. I like the feel of it. Further, it has a good balance and it's light. More light than a P-bass. Is it a bad choice for a beginner?

/Niels A.

2. if you like the feel of it, i'd be jumping on that one!

Nothing wrong with an EB-2, just make sure you put heavy gauge strings on (.050-.110) since its a short scale...

[​IMG]

(a blonde '60 EB-2)

3. My first bass was an EB-2D, wayyyy back in '67.

However, I would advise you to start with a Fender Precision or Jazz type bass with a 34" scale, unless you have very small hands. Leo Fender's designs for these has really stood the test of time, and they are still the standard after 40+ years.

You will experience a lot more clarity and versatility of tone, and you will not have to readjust to a longer neck at a later date. If you are used to a 34" scale neck, the switch to a short scale bass is easy, but not visa-versa.

P.S. I have a nice EB-2 in the closet, bought at a local pawnshop for old memories (I should never have let go of the old one). I remember my old one as having sounded great, but when I play one now my wife (who usually never comments on bass tone) will ask me why she can't hear the notes clearly. They are pretty muddy, but great for certain styles.

Have fun, & Aloha,

Jonathan

4. fremenblue

fremenblue

Jan 8, 2003
    Eugene, Or.