1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Gibson EB or EBMM USA SUB

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bassplayer2014, Feb 4, 2016.

1. bassplayer2014

bassplayer2014

Jun 7, 2014
    Arizona
    I'm looking to add another 4-string bass to my collection. There's two basses I'm looking at and I have zero experience with either of them. I'm a Blues rocker who uses Fender J's & P's.

There's a 2013 Gibson EB 4-string with OHSC for $500.00 and a (1999?) EBMM USA Sub 4-string with OHSC for $400.00.

I know I have to play each one before forming a purchase decision.

Any thoughts on value, price, quality, performance, sound and any other factors?

Thank you in advance for your much appreciated comments.

2. Marial

Marial weapons-grade plum

Apr 8, 2011
    No experience with the EB Sub, but the Gibson EB is worth the money if it's a good one (QC seems to vary wildly). I recently bought one and it's a pretty versatile bass, but the ergos are not the same if you're used to Fender ergos. Good tone, meaty. I've owned a few 'real' Stingrays over the years and the necks, in my experience, are Precision-like and the overall ergos will be more familiar. Tone-wise? Can't say, I've never played the Sub version.

The Gibson may eventually increase in value, the Sub probably will not.

3. mdogs

mdogs Supporting Member

Apr 13, 2010
    Constant state of flux
    At those prices, you can't go wrong either way, both excellent choices!!!

4. bassplayer2014

bassplayer2014

Jun 7, 2014
    Arizona
    Thanks, that's what I was thinking too.

5. bassplayer2014

bassplayer2014

Jun 7, 2014
    Arizona