1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Gibson SG Faded (Worn Ebony) vs Gibson SG Standard Bass RI Floor Models

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BassfulOne, Jan 8, 2012.

1. Hello Talkbass World!

So I recently sold my Ric (no regrets! Rics weren't comfortable for my hands and the weight was pretty hefty as well) and now I'm on the hunt for a short-scale bass. I'm 5'6" so I think I overestimated how large my hands were and I'm a pianist by training but I want to delve into the world of bass. :)

The bass I currently am looking at and I'm quite fond of the sound of is the Gibson SG. I saw two at my local GC that were the floor models and they told me they didn't have any more in stock besides those two (the salesperson seemed like he wasn't BSing me) so he was willing to mark down 10% b/c of wear & tear from being a floor model. He also told me there wouldn't be any more in stock probably until February (hence the markdowns).

My questions are: A.) Are either of them worth it at 10% off? B.) Should I try to haggle the price down more and try to get him to NOT charge tax? C.) Which should I go for (faded ebony vs glossy cherry - with a $500 price difference! But both floor models)? And lastly D.) Are there other short scale basses I should be considering for the same kind of tone, or is this pretty much it at this price range?

I hope this wasn't too long to read, and thanks in advance for the help! :hyper:

2. stanley00

stanley00

Mar 15, 2010
    Albuquerque, NM
    A.) I recently bought a new faded ebony at full price. I didn't pay sales tax because I ordered from MF because no one had one locally. I saved 7% that way. Usually there aren't very many deals on Gibsons. The price is worth it if that's what you want.