1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Gibson's new patent

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by pilotjones, Apr 17, 2006.

1. pilotjones

pilotjones Supporting Member

Nov 8, 2001
    US-NY-NYC
    In the other patent thread, a few people expressed interest in discussing a new patent that Gibson has been granted. So here goes!

The patent: http://patft.uspto.gov/netacgi/nph-...2,450.UREF.&OS=ref/4,852,450&RS=REF/4,852,450

Before I start, let me say a few things:
    - I'm not a patent lawyer.
    - I'm a guy with an engineering background, and an interest in basses, which has led me to some interest in guitar-related patents. (What a nerd!)
    - I'm learning about the patents as I go along. I will always try to point out when something is my opinion/interpretation.

That being said, there is a huge new patent by Gibson that deals with several issues in building a neck. There are 69 claims in the patent! Best wishes to anyone who fights their way through the whole thing. I've done what I'd call a "detail skim through."

Here's my summary of some of the major points of the patent. Of course, I might mischaracterize some things in summarizing, but I'll do my best.

• they give a lot of background material on temperament systems, scales, and prior art.
    • claims PART ONE -- formulas applied to fret placement (note: the "parts" are mine for clarity, and not part of the patent):