Gig Etiquette

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by lwleaver, Aug 30, 2003.

1. lwleaver

lwleaver Something cute and clever.

Apr 10, 2002
    Philadelphia, PA
    Ok, I am still trying to figure this one out. I think the other band definitely does not know the "rules", but I would like your feedback.

I am at a gig 2 weeks ago and I had just worked like 30 hours straight because of the blackout. I got like 4 hours sleep and went to a my gig.

The show went well, but I did not play my best. So, I am tired and pissed I think I played bad and have to go back to work right after the show. I work in IT. SO, we finish our set and the next band had 90% of the stage front blocked with their gear. I think this is totally wrong but I am in a hurry and do not have time to deal with it.

I grab my bass and pedals and take em to the car. Now before I have a chance to even leave the stage their bass player is already dumping **** on stage. This too seems rude but I am in a hurry.

I come back in for my amp and their bass player set his entire rig up in front of mine pushing my stuff to the back corner. I verbally said "What the ****". Their singer starts getting all pissy saying they had been booked for our spot. They totally didn't. They screwed up the time and were rushing us.

I began explaining how wrong it was to block the stage then setup in front of our stuff. I always make a conscious effort to clear out as fast as possible. So as we echange words the guy says if I want we can go out back and take care of it.

To me he was picking a fight. Now, is it wrong to block a stage when a band is unloading? Is it wrong to start piling **** on stage without even asking if it is cool? I always at least ask to give the guys a hand loading out.

Would you pick a fight over it? I don't know it seems there is general etiquette to go by, especially for original bands. We only get 45 minutes at most so every second is precious. Feedback is definitely welcome.