Gig in the wild

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Probiotyk, Aug 22, 2021.

1. Probiotyk

Probiotyk

Aug 22, 2021
    I have been using the forum as a main font of knowledge for a couple of years now, and now came the time to register and ask a question myself, so hello world!

The problem I need to solve is playing outdoors (by the sea, in a field etc). Since it's not exactly gigging, I'm only interested in acquiring a power rig that would be sufficient to power my 120W combo amplifier and possibly a couple of effect pedals.

I have looked through this forum and some other places on the net, but haven't managed to find a guide for dummies - most of the material was using some presupposed knowledge that was difficult for me to parse in order to learn in digestible chunks. I ask for patience as I imagine quite a few basic questions will be posed in this thread, starting with the following:
    • What information do I need in order to correctly estimate the power consumption of the amplifier I own for supposed "x" hours of unbroken playtime?
    • Can I buy a power source (supposedly a battery?) and plug the amp directly into it, or is it necessary to put something in between the powersource-amp chain?
    • If I need to buy something besides the power source, how will it influence (if at all) the requirement for capacity of said power source?
    • How do I convert the information from the first question into information regarding the desired capacity of the power source?
    More questions are sure to pop up in time as for now I don't even know what I need to know about. I purposefully left out the details, since I imagine a skeletal/101/for dummies guide to the general concepts might be useful for someone wanting to learn in the future.

2. el murdoque

el murdoque

Mar 10, 2013
    Germany
    Most of the answers vary with the equipment used, that is why a general guide will not really work.

The two most important questions are: