Gig Report: AKP at State Theater 1/27/2018 (pic heavy)

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by mc900ftj, Jan 29, 2018.

1. mc900ftj

mc900ftj

Jan 21, 2014
    This is my first attempt at a gig-report. I will not call it a @BassCliff -styled report, as there really are no food photos, but I will mention food! ;)

Saturday was a cool experience as Acoustic Kitty Project performed at the inaugural "Stage on Stage" series at the beautiful State Theater in Easton, PA. The "Stage on Stage" concept is to create a club atmosphere by transforming the (rather large) stage of this historic theater into a more intimate space where the performers and the crowd can share that space. It went very well and based on the turnout, I'm hoping it is done much more often!

We shared the bill with Richmond, VA-based The Trongone Band who were fantastic!

The State Theater is a very nice restored theater.
    01 Marquis.jpg

When the theater was restored and renovated they made many improvements behind the scenes. For example, there are modern loading facilities. There is private parking on an adjacent roof deck with a loading dock and freight elevator. Dan's ready to take the first ride down.
    02 LoadIn1.jpg
    At stage-level, the elevator has a large vestibule (on the left in this photo) and easy access to stage right (straight ahead).
    03 LoadIn2.jpg
    Bill checks his phone while Adam (the theater's sound engineer) works onstage. This was an easy setup for Bill as he and the other band agreed he'd use their drums rather than change-over. The theater's crew were great to work with and are consummate professionals.
    04 LoadIn3.jpg