Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

GK 1001RB II

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Foster2004, Oct 1, 2004.

1. Foster2004

Foster2004

Sep 30, 2004
    Boonton, NJ
    Alright, I got the GK 1001 RBII. I HEARD great things about it, and I've been using it for about 4 months now BUT i haven't really been too impressed with it. I'm playing it through and ampeg 4 x 12 cab and I added a Sans Amp too. Any suggestions on how I should set this thing up? Or should I just sell it and get an all tube jobber?

2. danman

danman

May 18, 2004
    Philadelphia, PA
    4x12???

I didn't know ampeg was still making them.

I would first play without the sans amp and set everything on the amp to zero. This is what I did on my gk and I then just adjusted my treble down a little. Everything else sounded great to me.

danman

3. Foster2004

Foster2004

Sep 30, 2004
    Boonton, NJ
    it's an older ampeg. It's an SVT HEN, and I heard it was discontinued a while back. Thanks for the help advice, I'll give it a shot.

4. Larzito

Larzito

Aug 1, 2000
    Dallas, Texas
    I like the GK for a solid state sound. I have an Ashdown for the tube sound. Both have their place...so I wouldn't get rid of the GK.

Some peole scoop the GK, I prefer to turn the bass knob almost all the way up, leave the scoop knob off (or sometimes 9-10 o'clock but no higher) and sometimes push the string switch in (acts like a deep switch). Leave everything else close to flat, with a small treble cut. Produces a nice punchy sound. While the GK doesn't have the three dimensional depth of an amp with a tube pre, it is a versitile, powerful amp that can do clean or dirty with authority...and is not heavy.