1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

GK 15 inch cabs?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by zbasstringer, Apr 30, 2010.

1. zbasstringer

zbasstringer

Jun 24, 2008
    St. Louis
    Okay talkbass, I have a question for all of you. Right now, I'm trying to sell/trade my Geddy Lee Jazz bass for something else. A man e-mailed me today wondering how much cash he would need to throw in if he traded me 2 15" Gallien Krueger cabs with original EV speakers.

I've read that they are highly regarded, but otherwise, I have no knowledge about them, or how much they would be worth. I asked the seller for information about year, wattage, etc. What do you all, my talkbass friends, know about these cabs? I appreciate any input, especially pictures. Thank you

2. 62bass

62bass

Apr 3, 2005
    I've played a few gigs with one of them some years ago. This cabinet had been played hard 6 nights a week for years by a guy who gigged all the time. Still sounded good. I was using it with a GK 800 RB. I think the cab was rated for 200 watts and I had it cranked pretty high with no problems.It put out a pretty fair bit of volume and was clean enough. A pair would sound even better.

I guess it depends on what condition the cabs are in and how much the speakers have been damaged if they have. A recone or replacement will cost you.

I don't have any idea of what you could get for those cabinets if you re sold them. The used market isn't doing so good right now from what I see. People just aren't paying top dollar what with the economy.

3. zbasstringer

zbasstringer

Jun 24, 2008
    St. Louis