1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

GK MB115 not working out [& PF350 impressions]

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Belabor, Jun 25, 2014.

1. Belabor

Belabor

Oct 23, 2013
    I got a first generation (silver front) GK MB115 last year, because I started playing in a band and needed something to carry me through rehearsals. I've been using this amp both at home to practice and I've been driving it to our rehearsal room every week.

Now, my experience with the amp has been a large mixed bag. Tone-wise, I always have the Contour on as I don't like the more "hi-fi" sound of the amp without it. I also think it works better with my small pedalboard (Pitchblack, JamMan Solo, Disnortion & VT Bass) with the Contour on. Tweeter has been off since day one, it is okay without pedals but doesn't work well at all with my VT Bass. EQ is around noon, I often cut the bass a tiny bit, because I feel the speaker can get a bit boomy at higher volume.

I do like how it cuts quite well in a band, although I always need to elevate the amp to be able to really hear myself clearly. I also like how it's reasonably light and it seems to be built sturdy. I don't like the headphone out, I've had trouble once with a tech about the direct out that's on the circuit board backwards and I also don't like that the amp doesn't really have any grit. The gain knob has been on 10 pretty much always and I've used my pedals to get it to grind a little.

Now, because of this mixed bag and the fact that I don't *really* love the sound of the thing, I've been thinking of selling or trading it. I play rock and a little bit of alternative metal with my band, and before I got my GK I thought about getting a TC BG250 or a smaller Ampeg. I'd like a bit more grit in my sound, and if my amp could get me there without my pedals I would really like that too.