1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

GK or Carvin Mini combo?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Randy S, Mar 1, 2013.

1. Randy S

Randy S

Jul 7, 2008
    Western WA
    I hope to buy one or the other in the next few months.

Either in a 1 15 or a 2 10 configuration.

Please give me your thoughts.

Thanks...

2. I prefer the tone and value G-K provides. You may like the Carvin more, or like G-K more.
    If you buy the G-K from a source with a liberal return policy and don't like it you can return it and try the Carvin (10 day return policy IIRC).

3. mournblade

mournblade

Nov 19, 2006
    Roanoke, TX
    I played the GK 115 combo, I liked it for what it was. I have no experience with the Carvin.

4. craig.p

craig.p

Sep 28, 2008
    New Hampshire
    There's at least one huge thread in this forum on the Carvin micro combos. Worth reading.

5. Dave W

Dave W

Mar 1, 2007
    White Plains
    I too prefer the sound of GK, so I'd go with that.

6. fabubass

fabubass

Jan 13, 2006
    Can't go wrong with GK!

7. Jarrett

Jarrett

Jan 19, 2004
    Waxahachie, Tx
    I use GK and Carvin amps and Carvin cabs. I'm pretty sure I would be equally happy with either.

The one thing I will say about the Carvin amp versus the GK is the Carvin has much better EQ'ing. If you have a bass and cab that sound great without much EQ, then its a wash. But if you run into a situation where you need to cut/boost certain frequencies or even like to run flatter, the Carvin works much better at this than the GK's.

8. Randy S

Randy S

Jul 7, 2008
    Western WA
    The best bass sound I ever had was on a GK rig. So, even with the price difference, either one may be worth the extra bucks to go with a GK.

One concern is that only the 2 10 GK allows for the use of a non powered extension speaker.

The GK 2 10 is almost double the Carvin 2 10.