1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

GK RB amp and Bergantino HS210?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by MJKay92, Mar 28, 2009.

1. MJKay92

MJKay92

Mar 28, 2009
    Hi all, this is my first post on TalkBass and don't know if a thread similar to this already exists, if so I'm sorry.

I'm a bassist who's considering upgrading his rig to compete with a drummer and a guitarist with a 100W amp. Right now I'm running a 30W practice amp which has less bass than the guitarist's amp!

I'd like an amp which I could play in small bars/clubs with and need a little advice on amps I could buy. I play funk, indie and alternative rock the majority of the time.

I'm liking the look and sound of some Gallien Krueger RB amplifiers I've heard. I'm wondering about the possibility of combining a Gallien Krueger 700rb-ii or 1001rb-ii head with a Bergantino HS210 or another 210 cabinet. Some specs taken from the relevant websites:

The GK 700rb-ii will output 320W at 8 ohms or 480W at 4 ohms.
    The GK 1001rb-ii will output 460W at 8 ohms or 700W at 4 ohms.
    The Bergantino HS210 cabinet is rated 8 ohms and 400W RMS.

http://www.gallien-krueger.com/products_rb_series.html (The owners' manuals section of the website was where I found the 8 ohm information)
    http://www.bergantino.com/images/hs210h_web.jpg

-Considering that I might want to add another 210, 112 or 115 cabinet later on, would I be better off buying the 700rb-ii or the 1001rb-ii?
    -The GK amps are advertised as 4 ohms, but the manual also gives a wattage for 8 ohms. Will the amp output at 8 ohms when only a single 8 ohm amp is connected?
    -If I chose the latter amp, would it be dangerous to run a 460W amp into a cabinet rated 400W RMS?