1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

GK tweeter hissing?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by 2012 AMJAZZ, Aug 15, 2012.

1. 2012 AMJAZZ

2012 AMJAZZ

Jul 21, 2012
    I just got a GK MB 500 and a GK 410-Neo from Sweetwater
    I used a speakon cable, set the tweeter on full range and normal position. There is a loud hiss. Do I need a different type of speakon cable. I have never used them before. It says 4 on the package. Is there a speakon 2? Should this matter? It also says you can no longer use a regular jack.
    I love the amp and would hate to have to send it back, but the hiss is a dealbreaker.

2. 2012 AMJAZZ

2012 AMJAZZ

Jul 21, 2012
    I am considering keeping the bottom and exchanging the head for an Ampeg PF 500
    Sweetwater says this has been an issue with some MB 500's
    I play in a Classic Rock band

3. The 4 conductor speakon should be right. I imagine the cab should be set to biamp instead of fullrange though, so it utilizes the biamping.

4. RitchS

RitchS Supporting Member

Oct 5, 2011
    Auburn California
    Maybe there's a snake in it. ?

5. MB500 don't biamp. Sounds like you received a noisy unit. Exchange is the answer. New production leaving the California plant seem to be quieter. All high gain amps will hiss some but should not be excessive.

6. birminghambass

birminghambass Supporting Member

Sep 18, 2002
    Birmingham, AL
    My MB500 hissed like crazy. Do a few bicep curls then buy a 700RB2. You're welcome. (joke)

7. Aha. i wasn't paying enough attention.

In that case, he doesn't really need a 4 wire speaking does he? Although if it is wired right I guess it makes no difference.

8. ddnidd1

ddnidd1 Supporting Member

Hiss is generated by the (low) quality of electronic components and circuit design - not by tweeters/horns or cables.