Glarry, Is It Good For Mods?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Lucas Gonzalez, Apr 12, 2021.

1. Lucas Gonzalez

Lucas Gonzalez

Jul 31, 2020
    Hi I want to have a bass to build up slowly. I don't have a great budget so I wanted to do these mods on a Glarry GJazz. Since I'm new to this field I wanted to know if this is a good idea.

spatters and Dr. Cheese like this.
  2. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2021
    spatters and TrustRod like this.
  3. Depends on what mods you want to do.
    There is a YouTube channel where the guy does exactly this with a Glarry P - upgraded everything on it; this is the $89 model, bottom of the barrel
    This guy:

there are like 6 or more episodes where he does a bunch of upgrades - even the neck. You’ll have to search his channel to see them all.

but it might be worth getting the upgraded one for $159 and need to do less to it...
    I am considering the GII Jazz with no plans to upgrade it. Just set it and forget it. I already have better basses, I want one as a true beater.

B-Mac likes this.
  4. bigdaddybass12

bigdaddybass12

Feb 26, 2021
    mmm, that is a tough one. You may spend $200+ on upgrades. I look at a bass for resale value. I had a Squier VM I almost had to give away. I bought the latest version of Sterling Ray4 on sale for $269 for fun. Kinda wanting to sell it. Only a zillion of them for sale. May have to give it away too.
    Said that to say this, you get the $79 bass, put $300 worth of upgrades, it is still a $79.00 bass

5. abarson

abarson

Nov 6, 2003
    Santa Cruz
    I've not quite understood the value of buying a cheap instrument and then sinking lots of money into upgrades, unless the body and neck are absolutely your favorite. Otherwise, there are so many choices for better ready-made instruments.

StayLow, droo46 and bigdaddybass12 like this.
  6. GretschWretch

GretschWretch Supporting Member

Dec 27, 2013