Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

gluing a laminate body...

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by JSPguitars, Feb 20, 2004.

1. JSPguitars

JSPguitars

Jan 12, 2004
    Grass Valley
    I'm planning to build a bass body using many different little strips/laminates of wood, sort of a la Carl Thompson, and I have never done this before.
    Was wondering exactly how to glue the pieces together, where to start, etc.??
    the core wood of body will be mahogany, but i want to put thin layers both on top and on bottom of that, and those layers will be multi-layered in themselves, if that makes sense.
    the top will have wings of bookmtch jujube wood, with a thin strip of bloodwood in the middle of them, and the back will be canarywood and bloodwood, most likely........so should I just start gluing each individual layer together first?
    or should I glue the whole top layer to the core mahogany wood all at once, then vice versa?
    Thanks in advance

2. Bass Kahuna

Bass Kahuna

Dec 3, 2002
    West Lafayette, Indiana
    Luthier, Custom Builder
    I'm assuming you're referring to layering from front to back vs. a side to side lamination like the Les Claypool Carl Thompson?

When I am glueing up a multi-layer body, I usually do one layer at a time (ie: two pieces of wood at a time). My reasoning for this is that sometimes, when you start to apply pressure, the two pieces of wood can slip a bit with the glue acting like a lubricant. This is only accerbated by trying to glue more than 1 layer at a time, at least for me, anyway. Also, it keeps the glue from starting to setup on one piece before I get a chance to get glue spread around on the other pieces and lined up. This might be slighly unique to my climate, as the humidity hear is usually VERY low and things dry out fast here.