1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Go hard or go home!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by jimmyjames, Jan 6, 2012.

1. jimmyjames

jimmyjames

Mar 30, 2011
    Queens
    Ok, so I've been playing bass for about 8 years and I am not as good as I should be for the amount of time I've put into it

And it's my fault.

So I'm about to put together a rigorous schedule and plan that will help me to really boost up the chops...

But I feel I should base it around a well thought out....for a lack of a better word... Schematic.

What has worked well for you guys? As far as discipline and workflow?

2. jimmyjames

jimmyjames

Mar 30, 2011
    Queens
    I feel as I though this should have gone in "techniques". Sorry

3. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Get a good teacher versed in jazz to do it for you. You've reached this point because you don't know what to teach yourself next. A teacher does, especially a jazz teacher. Learning the basics of music the jazz way is the quickest and most direct way of improving. Even if you can only afford a few lessons just to get you started, it's worth it.

4. jimmyjames

jimmyjames

Mar 30, 2011
    Queens
    Well, I can't get A teacher, I'm unemployed and what little money I get goes towards school payments.

But I do know what I need to learn, what my issue is is discipline, I don't know how to write a plan of action for my self

5. 251

Oct 6, 2006
    Metro Boston MA
    Here is Lynn Seaton's response to a similar question;
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~