Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Go on or quit ??

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by j3b3r, Sep 2, 2000.

1. j3b3r

j3b3r

Aug 19, 2000
    I've been playing bass for 8 years.

But I never think and hear that I play good.

Is that normal or not ??

Once I was thinking that my gear wasn't good enough, but after I get a better one, I'm still thinking that way.

Any suggestion ??

2. Deynn

Deynn Moderator Emeritus

Aug 9, 2000
    Iowa
    Every time that I feel that way....my wife asks me..."well, do YOU enjoy playing? WHO are you playing for???"......
    I'm STILL playing....:D

3. pierce

pierce freethinker

May 25, 2000
    San Francisco, Ca

ditto

btw, don't take what other say of your bass playin as law, because most people lie (for one reason or the other)

4. I have had a weird variety of gear. On acoustic guitar, I have really regressed gearwise. I have had a Martin and a Guild in the past couple of years. Now I use a Sigma DM18, and it is NOWHERE as good as the acoustics I have sold (financial need, not becaýuse I wanted to!). But I play and sound better on it that I did on the great guitars simply because I know better now why I am playing it and what I want to play.

Same with bass gear. There is a certain lower limit of quality I can take (I am fussier about bass than acoustic) which for me is benchmarked by Fender MIA standards, but I believe that if I can't play and sound good on my P bass, the fault is not with the bass. My Rob Allen MB2 is an even better quality bass than the P, but I sound worse on it...personality clashes with the piezo..

Do you play in a band? Does that band groove? That's a very crucial factor...