1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Going back to a 4 string...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by CTC564, Mar 26, 2013.

1. CTC564

CTC564 Gold Supporting Member

Mar 7, 2011
    Toms River,NJ
    I've been playing 5 strings exclusively for about 15 years and lately I have the urge to own a 4 string...

Some of my bass playing friends claim it's real tough to go back to a four string

Any thoughts or experiences???

2. RedMoses

RedMoses

Jul 4, 2012
    NYC
    I was just like you, 10 years strictly 5'er, got the itch for Fender Bass and have not looked back since. Its an easy transition IMO, i use an Octave pedal to get the super lows, rarely do i miss the low B.

3. I play both, and I don't think the transition is difficult. Given how long it's been for you, it may take a few pratice sessions to get the feel back, but you should be fine.

BTW, I love playing fours as much as fives. I like a 4 especially when playing in Drop D and I'm singing lead. It makes it so nice to play the open strings.

4. totallywink

totallywink Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

10 years + of gigging with a 5'er and I too felt the urge to go back to a 4 stringer. Got myself a 60s Classic Jazz and a Geddy and now play 4s all the time (I do keep one 5'er around just in case my band situation changes but for now, she sits in the case).

I equate it to riding a serious road bicycle with a ton of gears and skinny tires and then getting back on a single speed beater bike - hence, it's like riding a bike. You'll be ok.

Got practice tonight with my classic rock band and the Jazz bass is all I need.

5. Dave Siff

Dave Siff Supporting Member