1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Going fretless - how hard is it?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Bocete, Feb 18, 2008.

1. Bocete

Bocete My E string is 36 1/4" long

Sep 30, 2006
    I've been playing bass for 2 years or so, and fell in love with the fretless sound. I also tried some fretless basses and loved the feel :) I would really love to go fretless, but am fairly busy and couldn't practice fretless precision for hours every day, in fact I doubt I could practice every day at all.

So, would going fretless be a smart move? I guess I could practice for two hours every other day, but note I'm still a rookie in fretted..

And yes, if I bought a fretless, it would be a fanned fret one so there would be even more trouble..

What do you think?
    Thx, Bocete

2. I've never used a fretless so ignore me if I'm talking rubbish... but could you go for one that has the fretlines marked out? Surely that would help the transition?

3. SoLongJake

SoLongJake Supporting Member

Jul 1, 2007
    Des Moines, Iowa
    A fanned fretless would be nearly impossible to have accurate intonation on. Out of curiosity, what would be the reason for wanting a fanned fretless? Just go unlined, nothing looks cooler imo than a nice unlined fingerboard.

4. kevteop

kevteop

Feb 12, 2008
    York, UK
    I switched to fretless after about two years of playing bass guitar, my first fretless was unlined, and I played it at a show the same week I bought it.

Whether my intonation sucked awfully or not I don't know... ;)

You don't need hours of dedicated practice every day, but you might need to break some left-hand habits to finger notes more accurately.

5. Bocete

Bocete My E string is 36 1/4" long

Sep 30, 2006
    Because I love high tension, and a 37" B string would give me one. I have a really hard time playing even the 35" 5-stringers.