1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Going from bass to guitar

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by stratovani, Jan 19, 2012.

1. I've read a lot of threads here on TB over the years about how difficult the transition from guitar to bass can be for some people. How a player has to lose the guitar mindset and not overplay so much, how he has to serve the song more, and so on. I've noticed lately that when I switch from bass to guitar I tend to carry over my bass mindset, in other words the lines I'll play on the bottom 4 strings on guitar sound a lot like the bass lines I would play. Also, I'm a lot faster on guitar now than I was before I started playing bass, due to the frets being a lot closer. However, with that increased speed I also tend to play a bit sloppy at times. Anyone else notice that?

2. They definitely require different mindsets. I switch between bass and guitar (though I'm more of a bassist than a guitarist) and the hardest thing for me (besides the "tiny" feel of a guitar vs. bass) is adjusting to the more melodic mindset required for guitar. So these days, I've saved myself the trouble and usually just play rhythm guitar - it just works better for me - I'll *never* be a "good" guitarist :)

But guitar, for me, takes a lot more work to get going on a song. I can pick up a bass and play just about anything (as long as it's within my technical abilities) and make it work. Not so with guitar. If I'm writing a song, I'll usually cough up a bass line first, then work from there since the bassline really defines the chord structure of the song.

3. Bloodhammer

Bloodhammer Twinkle Twinkle Black Star

Jul 7, 2009
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    I don't really have a problem going back and forth from guitar to bass, bass to guitar, etc.