Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

going studying abroad (NIU)- without my bass

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by bladerunner, Dec 26, 2004.

1. please feel free to share your opinions on this or if you have any similar experiences...

I am a bassist from denmark currently pursuing a degree in business english...I also currently play in two bands - one cover band and one original. So recently I was allocated a position at northern illinois university as an undergraduate student to study during the spring semester of 2005. Everybody pursuing the same degree as I are recommended to take one semester studying abroad, so I thought yeah hell why not. Many people study english here in denmark, so it's not easy to be allocated a position, and it's a great experience (least thats what i've been told).

I have been playing the bass for just 4 years, and this year I did more than 20 concerts (which is many to me) with great success, and I really love playing with the two bands that I'm in. None of my bands are 'professional', but I play with people who have played for much longer than me and have a very 'professional' attitude towards the music. Fortunately both bands have assured me that I can join as soon as I return. :hyper:

But still, theres basically two things: I feel bad leaving the bands for my own sake, even though it's in favor of my so-called professional carrier. I know its a pain to find a new bassplayer, and I know that its a pain to start from scratch because a bandmember has to become a part of the band musically as well as socially. And doing this for just 6 months of gigging...and also especially my cover band is starting to sound very well (we've played together for just one year), and everybody is motivated and engaged in the music as well as all the practical stuff.:bawl: