1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Going to be playing bass as well in my band. Can you educate me on the following....

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by michael.e, Feb 11, 2013.

1. michael.e

michael.e

Nov 6, 2007
    Hey!
    I am a guitarist first. In my neck of the woods, SF bay area, it is IMPOSSIBLE to find a bassist. ***!!

Anyway, the music is hip hop/Rock type affair, I don't mind pulling off my guitar, just as long as I am having fun, and am looking very forward to stepping up and learning a new instrument.

I am looking at a couple of things..

I don't have a lot of money to spend on this, so, this is what I was thinking. I LOVE the look of it, I need to get down and play it in order to make sure it sustains well enough and has no dead spots. Well, for that kind of money, I might have to expect something like that?

http://www.haloguitars.com/store/GOLIATH-4-String-Bass-Black.html

Bigger question is regarding amps. In general, are tube watts equal to SS watts?

I have a '75 Superbass 100 that I plan on using for the bass head in the interim, but I really want a more modern head or unit. What about a Mesa Buster 2-10 with a 1-15" extension cab?

The Buster is 200 watts. Would I be better off getting a class D amp?

Thanks for any input.

2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Never saw the bass before, but I'd totally use the Superbass and a decent bass cab. Class D is way cool if you need small sized stuff, but there's a reason they still make the tube stuff and it's not because it's heavier to carry.

3. basscooker

basscooker Commercial User

Apr 11, 2010
    cincy ky
    Owner, ChopShopAmps
    I'd say go to a local store and play everything used and inexpensive (NOT READ: cheap) and you'll find something you like.