Going To the Wrong Direction ?~~

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by madsky, May 4, 2001.

1. madsky

Apr 21, 2001
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Ok. I'm just a newbie bass player. I get tabs for my favorite songs and play along with them. [i know tabs are bad for you] I can read notes in the Treble Clef [i have and Eb Instrument Yamaha AS100 Saxophone] but I'm not sure how it works in the Bass Clef with the electric bass. Now all I do is play along using the tabs I got. I am still seeking a teacherto help me. Am I going the correct direction?
  2. snyderz

Aug 20, 2000
    AZ mountains
    I'd say if you are playing your bass, you are going in the right direction.
  3. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

Getting a teacher is the single best thing you can do for yourself to help you re-orient yourself to bass guitar after playing saxophone.

As you already read trebel clef, it probably won't be very hard to adapt to bass clef. The only way tabs will help you is to tell you what string and fret to play the notes...in other words fretboard familiarization. But there are better ways to go about learning the fretboard. Tabs are too "catch-as-catch can."

Playing scales and chord arpeggios starting with the first five frets on each string and adding one fret on each string at a time until you work your way up to the twelth fret is more systematic. After the twelth fret, it all starts over.

4. jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    So is that sax a tenor? Alto's are Bb if I remember, right? Are baritones and sopranos the same?

I think you're on the right track. Your treble clef knowledge is going to be a wonderful asset as you already understand how to read music. Now you just have to translate that to bass clef.

I commend you on trying to find a teacher. This is never a bad idea.