1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Going to try out some TI Rounds on one of my Jazz basses.

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Tony In Philly, Oct 2, 2013.

1. Tony In Philly

Tony In Philly Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

Oct 25, 2007
    Filthydelphia, USA
    Anybody ever tried these?

Thomastik-Infeld T-I JAZZ Round Wound (TI_JR344)

I just ordered some and am curious about what experiences anybody out there has had with them.

2. salcott

salcott Supporting Member

Aug 22, 2007
    NYC, Inwood.
    Great strings-everything we like about RW strings with much better quality control.

3. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin Banned

Dec 11, 1999
    I am an absolute devotee of these strings (Disclaimer - I'm also a TI artist).

The JR are very evenly balanced. They have very low tensions and require a softer touch (not a string you want to really dig in with). They have a very small diameter outer winding and feel almost like half rounds. Finally they have a layer of silk between the inner and outer wrappings. This tends to tame some of the annoying upper partials of other strings.

Mike Dimin

4. BobaFret

BobaFret

Jan 22, 2008
    I just put them on a Lakland DJ4 last week and am quite liking them. I've tended to use smaller diameter strings anyway so that's not an issue.

I will say they are VERY different from any RW string I've ever used (In both sound and feel). May not be for everybody, but I think it works for me.

5. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    I have a very, very old set I bought used on my Carvin. They're so old there's some indentations on the strings in some parts from frets, but, they're amazing. Only rounds I really like.

6. Tony In Philly

Tony In Philly Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

Oct 25, 2007
    Filthydelphia, USA
    Thanks for the input, guys!