Goliath 4x10 and what?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by rojo412, Nov 5, 2000.

1. rojo412

rojo412 MARK IT ZERO! Supporting Member

Feb 26, 2000
    Cleveland, OH.
    I have played a few nice combinations of amp and cab at GC and have come to the conclusion that the SWR Goliath III is my favorite cabinet, hands down. The only question about it is what do owners think of them after having them for a while and how they last, how loud they are, how they hold up in a live situation, etc.

And since I'm going stack instead of combo, what head should I get? I'm considering an SWR Bass 350, GK 800 RB II, Ampeg SVT-3. What's the best? Any other suggestions?

Thanks. I'm new to the stack world.
  2. puppeteering

Mar 16, 2000
    I was a Goliath III owner for awhile. Never found myself wanting more, but THEN it got ripped off. After REALLY doing some comparison (including the SWR Goliath III, which I was willing to buy again), I opted for an Aguilar 4x10. DAMN this thing sounds good. I had an EDEN 4x10XLT for awhile, and the truth is, it sounds fantastic. The trouble is mine DEFINIETLY emphasized low-mids (200hZ?), and although that's a nice frequency to boost/cut, The Aguilar sounded a little more defined, more focused, transparent, less-colored. SOUNDS EXCELLENT on MID-HIGH LEVEL VOLUMES.No consider, how many times a week are you plannin to play, or are there other needs that need to ne me assured.
  3. The Goliath III is used by top touring pros in all styles of music, look around on TV, concerts, they're everywhere man! Buy one these and your gonna love it. It handles 700 watts , has horn level control, built to last , looks great,sounds great at high or low volume levels what more can one ask of a 410? I love mine, and suggest you consider SWR heads to pair with it, I've got the sm400s its much more than I usually need in most venues I play in.
  4. Chris S.

Chris S.

Nov 4, 2000