Goliath III 4 vs 8 ohm

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Denimhorn, Feb 22, 2003.

1. Denimhorn

Nov 25, 2002
    Tomorrow I am buying a SM900 head after some solid research!! I am also picking up a Goliath III cab to go with it and i wanted to know whether i should get the 4 ohm or 8 ohm model. I may at some point (after saving more money or if needed) be getting a second goliath III or maybe a Son of Bertha to go with it. Knowing that which one do you all think would be best?

I know with the SM500 it was recommneded on here to get the 8ohm and run it bridged mono mode if i was going to add on another cabinet - thank you SecretDonkey. Because the 900 has more power....does that still apply? I feel like an idiot asking..but Im just starting to learn about this stuff. It looks like the 4 ohm is the way to go to me....but again...im just learning.
  2. If you play 5 string predominantly I would buy the 8 ohm Goliath and add a 15 cabinet later.
  3. Fuzzbass

Fuzzbass P5 with overdrive Supporting Member

That's difficult because the answer depends on your situation. If you think you'll need another cabinet, then it's best to make allowances. However the Goliath might be enough for you.

FWIW I was perfectly satisfied playing 5-string through a pair of Goliath Junior III cabs, but YMMV.
  4. leftybassdog

leftybassdog Senior Supporting Member

I think 8 ohm is the way to go, the 900 will give you alot of power at 8 ohms and if you add a 15 or any other cab at 8 ohms you will drop to 4 ohms. the 900 has alot of power and you wont need to get every drop out of it !. I use a 750 with a 8 ohm and it works great, if you were looking at a 350 then I would say 4 ohms would be the way to go for the power.:bassist:
  5. secretdonkey

Oct 9, 2002
    Austin, TX