Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Gollihur Carved Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by random bassist, Jan 27, 2005.

1. random bassist

random bassist

Jan 21, 2005
    Fl
    I was just wondering if anyone out there had tried one of Mr Gollihur's bulgarian carved basses. Ive heard a lot about them and was strongly considering having one sent to me to test play. I have been playing for several years on various privately owned basses and need to find one for myself. I have already looked in the newb links and didnt see anything that i havent tried yet really so someone suggested to look at Gollihur's site. I saw that he is selling hand carved basses for a really good price. I am mainly asking this question because of the price. I dont really think it could be very good for the price. Fully carved hand made bass for $2500? well if anyone has played one of these please tell me your opinnion.
    Thanx :bassist:

2. nicklloyd

nicklloyd Supporting Member/Luthier

Jan 27, 2002
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    My main comment is that the necks I've seen on them (3 different basses) are very fat, to the point of uncomfortable. This is something that your repairperson could fix, however.

3. I had a 5 string until I found my Shen. The one I had was a nice instrument in that it had a very clear tone.
    It did have alot of wood in it which is good for stability but probably did reduce the resonance.
    I think it's a really nice bass for the price paid and when you're ready for a higher level instrument, I dont think you'd lose money on it.
    It was certainly an improvement from the ply I owned before.

Bob, is great to work with and has good taste in the products he offers. If that's your price range, I'd give it try.

I didnt find the neck that thick for a 5 string but again, I dont know about the 4.

Good Luck,
    Dave

4. random bassist