1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Gonna make and install a P Bass harness.... tips?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by armybass, Feb 6, 2016.

1. armybass

armybass Gold Supporting Member

Jul 19, 2001
    After 30 plus years of playing and doing all of my own setup I am gonna make my first attempt of a real job with a soldering iron. I have a 63 RI P bass that came with a preamp in it. I yanked all of the crap out and am left with the pickup wires and the ground wire from the bridge. I ordered a P Bass set with the two CTS pots, input jack, cloth wire and the orange capacitor. I have a few diagrams off of the internet and they seem mostly the same. I am a total newb with this stuff but I assume it is relatively simple. Anyone have any suggestions for a first timer that could save me some time and trouble or at least help insure I get it right the first time? :)

2. nerkoids

nerkoids Supporting Member

Jan 3, 2014
    Montreal
    Pretty sure you got this. Unless you got a solder-less harness, there's not really going to be a quicker method, other than to make sure your iron is hot.

What values will the pots have, BTW?

armybass likes this.
  3. Hi, i have done a lot of soldering over the years on industrial panels and electronic gear so i can give you a few pointers i you want.

Its important to have all joints and wire ends clean and suported so they don't move as you solder. Sometimes helps to bend a hook into the wire to hold it in the tab on the pot. Joints must be clean. I use an eraser and rub it over the tab you are soldering and then a quick spray of isopropyl alcohol.