good amp for country music?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by murpbrad, Dec 6, 2004.

1. murpbrad

Dec 1, 2004
    Abilene, TX
    i currently use a peavey tnt but only because it was given to me when i first started playing bass. it's time for an upgrade, but there's not just a whole lot of people on here that talk about amps used for country music. my band plays mainly country, but i would call it more of an alternative country or country rock. i figure a good clean tone is probably the most important thing for that type of music. i'm open to the preamp/power amp setup or just a head. i'll probably have to buy used as i'm a broke college student. any suggestions would be appreciated. thanks
  2. Eric Moesle

Eric Moesle Supporting Member

Sep 21, 2001
    Columbus OH
    If you're a broke college student and are playing country music, Peavey's probably the way to go. Personally, I'd search for used and save the $$$$. Nice, reliable, decent tone, built like tanks. Not glamorous, not trendy, but that's all not necessary for playing country music locally.
  3. MegaSwing

MegaSwing Your Obedient Bassist® Gold Supporting Member

Nov 26, 2002
    Baltimore, MD USA
    I've been in a couple of country bands by now. Country bass needs to be big, bouncy, musical, and uncomplicated. Accurately reproducing the metal content in your strings is unimportant, probably injurious to the proper sound. (I once heard a local country bassist who had hi-fi tone to die for --Alembic preamp, QSC amp, PRS bass, SWR cabs, etc.-- and it was totally wrong for the music he was playing.) Unless you play biig venues or with other players who insist on being too loud, a Peavey TNT will go a long way in country. It has enough tone shaping controls to do the job well. You need to cultivate your own sensitivity to get the tone right. Overall, I think it is an underrated bass combo.

Edward G.
    Baltimore, MD
  4. IvanMike