1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Good Amps for Metal?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Phoebus125, Sep 6, 2008.

1. Phoebus125

Phoebus125

Aug 24, 2008
    Connecticut
    As I am an amateur when it comes to the bass, and especially when it comes to knowing bass gear, I of course have many questions to ask of those more learned than me...
    My style in bass playing tends to be more towards metal. My current bass has the bottom four strings of a 135 five-string set, cranked all the way down to low ADGC. Although replacing my Behringer Ultrabass 300W amplifier is probably in the distant future, I want to do my research as I go...
    With that being said, is there any make of bass amp that tends to be especially good for metal, or will just about any good amp do if I can EQ it right?

-Phoebus

2. heath_r_91

heath_r_91

Jun 3, 2006
    Topeka Area, Kansas
    Endorse:Artus-Basshanger-Dava-EC-Hartke-Orange-InEarz-SHS-Tigi
    I see a lot of Mesa Boogie rigs in metal.

Tons of Ampeg SVT-2 PRO heads into Ampeg SVT-810E cabs.

also a Mesa Boogie 400+ into an Ampeg SVT-810E is quite popular.

3. Myth_103

Myth_103 Supporting Member

I agree! Mesa 400+ or SVT 2 Pro. Also, maybe an Orange ad200? I've seen metal guys use those with great success as well! Much pricier though!

4. Waspinators

Waspinators

Jul 22, 2007
    South Florida
    Any all-tube Ampeg head, Orange AD200B, Mesa/Boogie 400+, and the Marshall VBA400 would be your best bets, but really any amp can sound good for metal with a Sansamp BDDI in front of it.

5. xshawnxearthx

xshawnxearthx

Aug 23, 2004
    new jersey
    ampeg 4 pro on top of the others people have listed.

6. levis76

levis76 Seconds from getting ba...

Apr 14, 2007
    Metro Detroit