Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Good bass stores/retailers in Va.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by TyKao, Jul 31, 2003.

1. TyKao

TyKao

Jun 29, 2003
    Well, I'm relatively new at this gear shopping game. I haven't gotten any new basses for about 9 years now and I'm in the market for another one.

Can any of you suggest a good retailer I can go to in the VA/No.Va/DC area? Someone with good prices/bargain specials, good repair technicians and a decent selection of gear? I'm from Richmond and all we have is a Sam Ash. The other stores I've gone to are pretty tiny and don't have anything really different to offer.

I know I can do internet shopping too, but I am wary of buying a guitar I haven't even gotten to touch and check out. No two basses are alike, right? Am I just being unreasaonable?

2. Philbiker

Philbiker Pat's the best!

Dec 28, 2000
    Northern Virginia, USA
    My personal favorite area store, and one which is very close to me, is Classic Axe. Tell the proprieter Phil Hamm sent you in. He sells Rickenbacker, Schecter (check out the honey blonde Schecter USA 5 string - DROOL-O-MATIC!, and some Korean brands, particularly Cort and Dean. He's got a 4 string Cort Curbow fretless in the store now that's wonderful. The last two basses I bought, my Tacoma acoustic and Dean Edge 5 fretless, I bought from Russ at Classic.

Melodee Music (link didn't work when I posted it) is another good dealer in Northern VA. Lots of Peavey there, and Gibson, Fender. Nice shop - I bought my Palaedium there in the 90s.

The best of all shops in the area, but a pain in the ass to get to from Northern Virginia, is Chuck Levins Washington Music Center. Worth a trip, but be ready for serious chaos, that place is insane.

Oh yeah if you like big chain stores there's a couple Guitar Centers in the area. I don't like big chain stores personally.