1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Good bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ajdxxi, Apr 28, 2010.

1. ajdxxi

ajdxxi

Apr 28, 2010
  2. ajdxxi

ajdxxi

Apr 28, 2010
    bump

3. Rox

Rox

Apr 25, 2010
    Ok. I'll bite .

I've heard they were junk . But obviously hearing and PLAYING are 2 different things .
    Firstly I'm pretty new to the bass so take this accordingly.

I saw one in a guitarcenter and checked it out . It played and sounded decent in my opinion . Pretty hot pickups . Decent neck . Good bass for being made in China . Played it through a Line6 bass amp . In my opinion I would of rather bought the Schecter Stargazer bass that was next to it for the same price than the Ibanez . But all in all I liked it . Well made , wasn't noisy and seemed like a well made bass. If you want it , go for it .

4. Jim Carr

Jim Carr Dr. Jim Gold Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2006
    Denton, TX or Kailua, HI
    fEARful Kool-Aid dispensing liberal academic card-carrying union member Musicians Local 72-147
    Your playing matters about 1000 times more than what instrument you use!!!

That said, why not ask the forum what basses they recommend according to your $$$ budget, and the style/players you love at the moment...which seems so so eternal when you are young, no?

5. VinKreepo

VinKreepo

Nov 13, 2009
    I love Ibanez, but considering you play punk, you'll probably want to try out a Fender P or Squier P. And if you have the money look into a Sterling Musicman series bass

On the cheaper side: An Ibanez BTB will give you a great tone as well for a relatively low price however they are big basses with big necks. An SR is kinda iffy... you will probably want to go with a 500 or 600 series SR because of the woods... the lower models are just too bright.

If you want cheap, try the BTB. If you have the money, try the P bass