Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

good/cheap software

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by BillytheBassist, Dec 28, 2005.

1. BillytheBassist

BillytheBassist

Aug 18, 2005
    Texas
    I am about to head out the door to go shopping for some recording software. Since i know that alot of you guy's do home recording and all of them sound really good, I thought i would ask for some advice on some recording software. I have about 100$ to spare on the software, I need something simple, and that will allow me create mp3 files and burn disc's etc. I'm a real noob at the software stuff so forgive me.
    Thanks & Peace :help:

2. Pruitt

Pruitt

Jun 30, 2005
    Danbury, CT
    Save yourself some money and download the freeware product called Audacity. It's a very powerful multi-track PC recorder. And did I mention it's free? ;)

http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

Once you get the hang of using that, you can look into commercial products to spend your hard earned sheckles on if you want to. ;)

Good luck and have fun!! :bassist:

3. BillytheBassist

BillytheBassist

Aug 18, 2005
    Texas
    Can the free version export mp3. files?,,,, and thanks

4. Pruitt

Pruitt

Jun 30, 2005
    Danbury, CT
    There's only one version and it's free. ;)

I haven't used it in a few months now, but I believe it does support MP3 and Wav conversions. I know it supports .wav, I just can't remember if it does mp3 also. :confused:

5. BillytheBassist

BillytheBassist

Aug 18, 2005
    Texas
    thanks alot pruitt, I'll give it a shot!

6. Pruitt

Pruitt

Jun 30, 2005
    Danbury, CT
    No problem. Glad to help. Considering the price, it's well worth checking out. IMHO, It's one of the better pieces of freeware I've ever come across over the years. Good luck!!! :)

7. CetiAlphaVI

CetiAlphaVI

May 27, 2005
    Midwest