1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Good flats for a 5er?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by purpletornado, May 3, 2010.

1. purpletornado

purpletornado

Aug 5, 2009
    Thinking of stringing my Ibanez 5er with flats. Anyone have any recommendations brand wise?

2. Mudfuzz

Mudfuzz

Apr 3, 2004
    OlyWA...
    I've been using D'Addario Chromes on my SR505 for 17 years now, so you could say I recommend them.

3. DavePlaysBass

DavePlaysBass Supporting Member

Mar 31, 2004
    CO
    Sadowsky flats!!!!

4. CapnSev

CapnSev

Aug 19, 2006
    Coeur d'Alene
    I just changed from Sadowskys to TIs on my P5.

I like them both a lot, but the TIs are really something special IMO.

5. salcott

salcott Supporting Member

Aug 22, 2007
    NYC, Inwood.
    Thomastik Jazz flats-they really are a cut above the rest.

6. Mudfuzz

Mudfuzz

Apr 3, 2004
    OlyWA...
    No, just bouncier;) I like them but find them too bouncy for everything.

7. A set of GHS Brite Flats or Precision Flats (sorry, gotta buy the B string seperately) would sound good.

8. Bardolphus

Bardolphus Put some stank on it... Supporting Member

Jan 8, 2007
    Austin, Texas
    Chromes for me...I'm a recent flats convert.

9. markob

markob

Mar 2, 2010
    North Cali
    Just bought my first 5'er. As a long time P player, I saw/heard the light and fell hard for flats. This 2003 Carvin B5 I just picked up came w/ a newish set of rounds. I thought I'd at least wear them out plus I always figured most 5 players used rounds...silly me. I'm ready to pull the rounds after a week. So this is an informative thread for me. I've used chromes (on my P's) forever but I'm up for any other suggestions. What are TI's?

10. Bardolphus

Bardolphus Put some stank on it... Supporting Member

Jan 8, 2007
    Austin, Texas
    TI = Thomastik Infeld