1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Good low budget amp setup

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by kfinch, Aug 25, 2012.

1. kfinch

kfinch

Aug 25, 2012
    Christchurch, NZ
    Hi all,

I was recently given a bass guitar by a family friend, and have made a commitment to myself to learn how to play. I am a complete newbie to the world of playing instruments but hopefully this is the start of a wonderful adventure.

So now I have a bass but no amp setup. Through a little browsing I have realised that one can either purchase an amp and speaker or an amp and speaker in one. Can anybody recommend a good place to start...best brands and all that? I have a budget of around $300US max.

Thanks in advance for any help, and if such a thread exists already you may slap me and send me there :)

2. Shop used. I would be looking for some older peavey gear. A mark series head and a TVX/TFX cab.

3. It all depends. Are you going to be gigging soon? What kind of music do you like? Answer those questions and maybe we'll get somewhere. Like the guy above said, used is good. You can find some great stuff. Also, welcome to the low end. Hope you enjoy your stay!

4. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses
    I'd look in the amps forum, I'm pretty sure there's a sticky thread at the top regarding your question.

$300 can get you lots of different stuff. You need to define what your needs are though, if you want to make the best choice. What's most important is a good place to start. The following are IMO the most important things to consider.

Volume
    Tone
    Quality
    Size
    Ability to upgrade

While many might argue, my experience is that in the $300 range the quality is going to be about equal on anything you buy.