Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Good slapping plus easy popping strings ??

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Hawkeye, Jul 20, 2005.

1. Hawkeye

Hawkeye Canuck Amateur

I'm just learning to slap and am having great fun with my "beater" bass (an 80's vintage Ibanez RB-999 "Bean-bass"). The RB 999 has nice wide spacing and sounds really good for the little dough I paid for it. It's the first bass that I feel comfortable slapping on.

My problem is that it is strung with what feels and looks like generic Med-Heavy strings. This makes the E & A sound good when slapped but the D & G really need to be quite deliberately pulled hard, to get a nice pop. The upper strings have a lot more tension than the medium Dean Markleys I use on my Godin BG-5 or the stock strings on my Lakland 55-01 which seem to pop very easily.

I'm looking for something with less tension, but still with some girth on the lower strings for slapping, but will be a bit more flexible for popping and fingerstyle. Any suggestions?

2. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Dr lo riders, medium gauge. I use stainless. I had ernie balls on before and noticed they had high tension D and G strings, these are much better.

3. sLiPkNoT_mAgGoT

sLiPkNoT_mAgGoT

Jul 24, 2005
    Australia
    are ghs flea bass strings any good for slap?

4. pyrohr

pyrohr

Aug 28, 2001
    Pakistani compound
    Ken Smith Slapmasters would be good for you.

5. DR highbeams, Fodera Vic Wooten sig. strings, pretty much any roundcore, stainless string

6. sLiPkNoT_mAgGoT

sLiPkNoT_mAgGoT

Jul 24, 2005
    Australia
    so i should try ken smith slapmasters

7. pyrohr

pyrohr

Aug 28, 2001
    Pakistani compound
    Yes, easily the easiest string to slap with! :cool:

8. fretlessrock

fretlessrock Supporting Member

Aug 8, 2002
    Corrupticut