Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Good songs for transcription/analysis?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by misterk73, Feb 24, 2003.

1. misterk73

misterk73

Apr 11, 2002
    Flagstaff, AZ
    My bass instructor has told me that it would be a good idea to ALWAYS be working on at least one transcription -- not necessarily note-for-note basslines, but what I guess you could call charts. (All I've been doing so far is identifying the keys, chords, and basic grooves in a song, then constructing new basslines around them.)

So, are there any recommendations out there for tunes that would be especially useful or valuable for a bass player like me to take a closer look at? (I've got a few years of cumulative playing experience but only a few months worth of music theory, and I'm very interested in exploring jazz and funk right now.)

Thanks!

2. Anesthesia (Pulling Teeth) is pretty complex. Alot of time meter changes, uses of notes outside they keys, etc.

You can detect alot of Jazz in it, too.

Um, other than that, Orion by Metallica has some sweeet basslines after the 4:00 mark, it's an instrumental. About 8 min long or so.

Um, Ava Maria by Bach will put just about anybody to sleep, good little tune to play.

Hope I helped. ;)

3. NJL

NJL

Apr 12, 2002
    San Antonio
    for once in my life by stevie wonder

james jamerson is on bass

this is a mover - if you can write it out, it will show you fairly complex syncopated lines

4. junglebike

junglebike Supporting Member

Feb 14, 2003
    San Diego, CA
    bump... I'm looking to start transcribing as well. Any other suggestions?

What about jazz stuff that's not impossibly complex? Anything played on an electric in that vein?

5. ConU

ConU

Mar 5, 2003
    La Belle Province