Good Squier Jazz...?????

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by RIZ, Oct 30, 2004.

1. O.k..... I recently bought a '93 Korean Fender/Squier Jazz off Ebay - I intended for it to be a knock around bass, as there are some jamming situations that I get into where my (very) nice Spectors are just like trout fishing with dynamite.

Anyway, I get this Squire and first thing I do is take it completely apart - I mean completely. If it was bolted or screwed on it was removed - everything.

I never even played it first before disassembling it. I'm very comfortable doing this as I've been setting up basses for 20 yrs...

I clean and detail the whiole thing... pots/p/ups cleaned w. electrical contact cleaner...blah blah...

Then I reassemble it and install a new BadassII bridge, set up the intonation, relief, action etc... and then a new set of strings.

Whoa....!!! :eek: :D The darn thin pumps & growls!!! Wuz up wit that???? I mean it has intense output from the p/ kidding !!! Isn't this supposed to be a Squire...???

Oh and for the record...I was up til this last June '04 the orig. owner of a sunburst '77 Fender Jazz in mint pristine shape...(sold it for $1200.00 to the 1st guy who looked at it...)

so I guess I must know a little about how a Fender Jazz is supposed to sound.

The headstock has the Large "Fender" Logo and under it in microscopic size it sez "Made in Korea" with the "CNxxxxx" serial nbr. Then way up at the top of the headstock where the old USA Jazz bass's say "contour body" in very slightly larger script it sez "Squire series" - again, it's tiny, tiny writing.

Point is, yes I know it's a Squire, but it doesn't appear to be of the modern level of quality....definite throwback feel and sound....

So my question is this, Back in the day did Fender ship the parts overseas for their Squire line? This bass sure hints of the current MIM style of imported US mat'ls and native labor.