Good Starter Headphone Amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Head Creep, Nov 6, 2004.

1. Head Creep

Head Creep

Nov 6, 2004
    Los Angeles
    I'm a somewhat educated n00b when it comes to all of this, so I'm hoping that someone could enlighten me as to what the hell I'm doing. I'm gonna go to Guitar Center this Thursday and buy my first bass, probably an Ibanez GSR200 or Yamaha RXB170, whichever feels best.

Since I am a beginner, and don't want to irritate the hell out of my parents, I'm planning on using an amp solely with headphones. Problem is, I have no idea what to get. I'm looking to spend $100 or less, and buy a nicer amp when I learn to play that second string and thereby am qualified to join a high school garage band (a year ago I was asked to play bass for a metal band based purely on the fact that I look like Cliff Burton, but I digress). I was eyeing the Behringer Bass V-Amp because it seems like a semi-long-term investment that I could grow with, but I'm not sure if it's too much for a beginner. So, what would be a good beginner headphone amp for $100 or less?
  2. NeedMoreBass

NeedMoreBass unregistered

Feb 14, 2003
  3. Justin V

Justin V

Dec 27, 2000
    Alameda, CA
    I bought a Pocket Rock-it headphone amp last year before my first year in college (just in case people in the dorm didn't like have the building shake). It's worked quite well for me. With the right headphones, I get pretty decent tone for what I'm doing (I'm using cheap $30 Sonys). The Line-in works quite nicely with my iPod as well. I think I bought mine for $50 at GC.
  4. Head Creep

Head Creep

Nov 6, 2004
    Los Angeles
    The Pocket Rock-It sounds nice, but I'd rather not deal with batteries. Ideally I'd get something that just plugs into a power outlet, but if it was the better product, I'd dig up my battery charger and buy a couple rechargable batteries.