1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Good Starting bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by HiThereJimHerald, Mar 27, 2015.

1. HiThereJimHerald

HiThereJimHerald

Mar 27, 2015
    I have been playing our school's bass for about 8 months now,and i've been looking into getting my own.The price range i'm looking at is $0-$400.So far these are the bass guitars that have stood out to me.This first one is a Short-Scale Ibanez Ibanez GSRM20 Mikro Short-Scale Bass Guitar | Musician's Friend The Second is the Epiphone Thunderbird Epiphone Thunderbird IV Bass Vintage Sunburst | Musician's Friend and the third is the Epiphone Eb-3 Epiphone EB-3 SG Bass | Musician's Friend I'm looking for a guitar that's got a good solid loud tone.

2. Those are all decent. You may want to check out Squiers as well.

3. Bill Thompson

Bill Thompson

Sep 19, 2014
    All of the basses are not bad choices, but you should go for the best one you can get for your money. Only thing to add is, Thunderbirds have a problem with neck dive because the headstock is so big. Cheers. ;^D.

fourstringgirl likes this.
  4. Torn Bassist

Torn Bassist

Feb 8, 2013
    Missouri
    When I decided to try fretless I purchased a Squier Vintage Modified and was surprised about the quality of the bass, you might want to take one (or a few) for a test drive....Spector also has a few basses from Korea that might be cool to try, the Legend series is cool and you can find these in the classified section.

5. tastybasslines

tastybasslines Banned

May 9, 2010
    Los Angeles, CA
    If you don't have any compelling reason, I'd stick to a full scale and avoid the Mirko.

fourstringgirl and bholder like this.
  6. bholder

bholder Affable Sociopath Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2001
    central NY state
    Received a gift from Sire* (see sig)