Good step-up bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by wdinc01, Feb 20, 2006.

1. Okay well I've been playing for a few months now on a Squier P bass (which I got in one of those starter packs) and I've been looking for a step up bass (either that or put new pick-ups in my bass). Could anyone recommend a good one?

I was looking mainly at Fenders, although I wanna stay at a price below $400. If it were up to me, I'd get a Geddy Lee, but I don't have a good source of money. I've been thinking about looking for a used bass, but I can't really find a good place for them (since most of the classified places, such as here, have basses wwwwaaayyy out of my price range). I havn't gotten around to checking out any local shops (I live in Jacksonville, FL, so if someone wants to recommend a good place). And I'd also like something not in black, although I'm not very picky.

Any help is appreciated.
  2. what kind of music do you play? what kind of tone do you wish to achieve? stuff like that is important for people to know before they can respond. pretty much all i can say is hunt around man, make sure to play everything you're even thinking of buying.

if your into metal, seriously check out ESP/LTD, they're pretty decent:bassist: . pay no mind to BC Rich, only their higher end stuff is decent, and even then...:spit:
  3. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    If you want to step up, and check out something totally different, have a look at a Korean made Spector. The NS2000 series are great basses. They can be had for $400 and under used.

4. I'm not into metal. I myself am into progressive rock and intricate (I believe is the word) basslines. But I'm not very good right now, so I can't really come up with my own.

As for the tone...well I don't know how to describe it. Something bright I suppose. Warm and round is good, but I don't like it to the point that it's almost indistinguishable against other guitars.